Worth Reading Vol. 1

My job is pretty busy during the school year so I have been catching up on my reading this summer. Here are some books I’ve read lately that I’d highly recommend.

Canada by Richard Ford

Del Parsons’ life changes drastically when his parents rob a bank. Despite the immediate giveaway of what becomes of his parents, the development of characters and detail of their lives leading up to the incident of the robbery is refreshing. It takes a while to even get to the part where he escapes to Canada. It wasn’t the most suspenseful book, but it kept my attention long enough to want to know whatever becomes of Del & his twin sister.

The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly

This book was hard to put down. I couldn’t understand Karen’s obsession with her friend, Biba, but it added intensity to the story line. There’s enough foreshadowing to keep you wanting more. The ending was completely unexpected!

People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

This was unlike any book I’ve read before. Honestly, if I had tried to read this 10 years ago, I probably would have lost interest. The older I get the more I’m fascinated by history and different religions. This is a fictional story about a sacred Jewish book called the Haggadah and each chapter visits a different time, place and people who have had access to this book. Honing in on certain characters brings back the humanity. There are some hard parts to swallow that open your eyes to the violence & hate that have affected our world from now back to the 14th century.

Shakespeare Saved My Life: Ten Years in Solitary with the Bard by Laura Bates

My mom gave me this book to read while I was home bound with rhabdo. I read it in two days. It’s a real life account of a Shakespeare professor who introduces prisoners to works like Hamlet, Romeo & Juliet and Macbeth. Through Shakespeare’s words they start to reflect on their own lives and even while in solitary confinement are able to find a sense of purpose. It is a story filled with hope and optimism. This is a must-read!

 

Leave a Reply

